Previous Standard | Next Standard

2.6 Continuous Operation

The institution is in operation and has students enrolled in degree programs.
(Continuous Operation)

Judgment of Compliance

Sam Houston State University has been in continuous operation since 1879 when it was created by the Texas Legislature and given the name Sam Houston Normal Institute. In 1923 Sam Houston Normal Institute became Sam Houston State Teachers College and in 1969 became Sam Houston State University.

Sam Houston State University has experienced dramatic enrollment growth since the Fall 2002 [1]. In the Fall 2007 semester, Sam Houston State University had 16,445 students of which 14,147 were undergraduate students [2].

Sam Houston State University is authorized to offer 6 undergraduate degrees, encompassing 78 undergraduate degree programs, 8 master’s degrees encompassing 52 degree programs, and 2 doctoral degrees encompassing 5 degree programs [3]. Operationally, these programs are housed in five Colleges: College of Arts and Sciences, College of Business Administration, College of Criminal Justice, College of Education, and the College of Humanities and Social Sciences.

Supporting Documentation
Documentation Reference
Document Title
[1] Enrollment by College, Mini Profile, Fall 2007
[2] Enrollment by Classification, Mini Profile, Fall 2007
[3] Degree Inventory, SHSU, 2007-2008

Previous Standard | Next Standard

Sub Content Box

Sam Houston State University
Huntsville, TX 77341
(936) 294-1111