

## ACADEMIC POLICY COUNCIL

Appointed by: Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Reports to: Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Number of Members: 21

**Purpose.** Serves as the chief academic administrative policy advisory body to the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs in matters relating to academic budgeting, curriculum revision and development, academic program planning, faculty personnel matters, academic standards, graduate program, and faculty research; serves as the forum for the final review and discussion of policies, procedures, and practices which involve collaboration and coordination among and between the academic colleges; and receives reports and recommendations from the Graduate Council, the Research Council, the Academic Affairs Council, the University Faculty Senate, and university committees which address academic policy and procedural matters.

Appointments. Appointments made by the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs; indefinite terms.

## Chair

<u>David E. Payne</u> Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Members

Mark Adams Associate Vice President for Information Resources

Genevieve Brown Dean, College of Education

Rita Caso Director, Institutional Research and Assessment

<u>Peter Cooper</u> Chair, Department of Computer Science (Chair Representative)

John M. de Castro
Dean, College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Richard F. Eglsaer
Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs

William Fleming Executive Director, Student Advising and Mentoring Center

<u>Jaimie Hebert</u> Dean, College of Arts and Sciences <u>Ann Holder</u> Director, Newton Gresham Library

Keith Jenkins Associate Vice President for Student Services

R. Dean Lewis Dean, College of Business Administration

Mitchell Muehsam Dean of Graduate Studies/Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs

<u>Debra Price</u> Chair, University Faculty Senate

<u>Teresa Ringo</u> Registrar

<u>Trevor Thorn</u> Director, Undergraduate Admissions

<u>Richard Ward</u>
Associate Vice President for Research and Special Programs

<u>Vincent J. Webb</u> Dean, College of Criminal Justice

Christopher Whitaker President, Student Government Association

Gene Young Director, Honors Program

Correct as of November, 2007

Sam Houston State University

PLEASE NOTE: All errors in committee listings should be reported in writing to Jacki Brossman, campus post office box 2478; e-mail jbrossman@shsu.edu.