TABLE OF CONTENTS A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

ACADEMIC AFFAIRS

## RESEARCH COUNCIL

Appointed by: President

Reports to: Associate Vice President for Science and Technology

Number of Members: 9
Faculty 9

**Purpose.** Studies and develops plans and recommendations for the organization of a systematic program for the encouragement and advancement of scholarly post-doctoral research and publication by members of the faculty.

Appointments. The President makes all appointments. The Research Council consists of nine faculty members; staggered three-year terms; the Associate Vice President for Science and Technology serves as an ex-officio chair. To be eligible to serve on this committee, faculty members must be on a research-track appointment and be a member of the graduate faculty. The Associate Vice President for Research and Sponsored Programs will identify academic areas to be represented. The Faculty Senate will make nominations for those terms expiring in even numbered years and the Academic Policy Council will make nominations for those terms expiring in odd numbered years. The Research Council reserves the right to remove a member who is unable to fulfill his/her role on the council in a responsible manner. The decision to remove a member must be made by a majority vote.

## **Nonvoting Chair**

Richard Ward Associate Vice President for Research and Special Programs

Terms expire August 31, 2008:

Rhonda Callaway Humanities and Social Sciences

Tamara Cook Arts and Sciences

Beverly Irby Education

Terms expire August 31, 2009:

Jon Short Arts and Sciences
Steve Cuvelier Criminal Justice

Bala Maniam Business Administration

Terms expire August 31, 2010:

Nicholas Pappas Humanities and Social Sciences

John Slate Education
Brian Lawton Criminal Justice

Correct as of April 2008

Sam Houston State University

**PLEASE NOTE:** All errors in committee listings should be reported in writing to Jacki Brossman, campus post office box 2478; e-mail <u>jbrossman@shsu.edu</u>.