

GRIEVANCE COMMITTEE, FACULTY

Appointed by: President
Reports to: President
Number of Members: 17
Faculty 12
Administrators 5

Purpose. Reviews written complaints from faculty members and recommends to the President of the University whether or not the facts merit continued inquiry by the committee.

Appointments. The President makes all appointments and designates the Chair. Membership is divided as follows: one administrator and two faculty members from each college and one faculty member from the library. The faculty members shall be selected from University Faculty Senate nominations. The administrators shall be selected from Academic Policy Council nominations. Additional nominations may be solicited from either body by the President. The Chair shall be selected by the President in consultation with the Chair of the University Faculty Senate and the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs. Members serve indefinite terms, with replacements nominated as necessary by the appropriate bodies. Chair serves a one-year, renewable term.

Term for Chair expires August 31, 2008:

Leroy Ashorn Chair

FACULTY MEMBERS

David Burris Arts and Science Carol James Arts and Science Ed Blackburne **Business Administration Business Administration** Jeff Harwell Jurg Gerber Criminal Justice Criminal Justice Phillip Lyons **Betty Higgins** Education Mary Nichter Education

Marsha Harman Humanities and Social Sciences
Eugene Young Humanities and Social Sciences
John Nevins Newton Gresham Library

ADMINISTRATIVE MEMBERS

Peter Cooper Arts and Science
Leroy Ashorn Business Administration
Wes Johnson Criminal Justice
Charlene Crocker Education

Kandi Tayebi Humanities and Social Sciences

Correct as of September, 2007

Sam Houston State University

PLEASE NOTE: All errors in committee listings should be reported in writing to Jacki Brossman, campus post office box 2478; e-mail jbrossman@shsu.edu.