

## STANDING FACULTY TENURE COMMITTEE

Appointed by: President

Reports to: Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Number of Members: 9
Faculty 9

**Purpose.** Recommends to administrative officers and to the faculty, guidelines for the probationary period and for holding tenure elections, monitors tenure elections, and serves the President in compiling the results of the elections and in helping to resolve issues arising during the tenure process.

**Appointments.** The President makes all appointments; nine (9) tenured faculty members from University Faculty Senate nominations; Chair is elected by the committee members; three-year terms expiring at the end of the fiscal year.

## Term for Chair expires August 31, 2008:

Kay Raymond\* Chair

Terms expire August 31, 2008:

William Hyman Education

Beverly Irby Education

Nedom Muns Arts and Sciences

Terms expire August 31, 2009:

Kay Raymond\* Humanities and Social Sciences
Susan Strickland Newton Gresham Library
Chris Wilson Humanities and Social Sciences

Terms expire August 31, 2010:

Sam Souryal Criminal Justice

John Domino Humanites and Social Sciences
Jo Ann Duffy Business Administration

Correct as of October, 2007

Sam Houston State University

PLEASE NOTE: All errors in committee listings should be reported in writing to Jacki Brossman, campus post office box 2478; e-mail <a href="mailto:jbrossman@shsu.edu">jbrossman@shsu.edu</a>.

<sup>\*</sup>Name appears more than once