

ACADEMIC AFFAIRS

CURRICULUM COMMITTEE

Email Committee

Appointed by:	Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
Reports to:	Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
Number of Members:	11
Faculty	9
Ex officio	2

Purpose. Reviews for academic integrity the curriculum reports to resolve conflicts to the extent possible; forwards to the Council of Academic Dean for certification of adequacy of funding the costs of program/administrative change to the institution and projected sources of funding; presents recommendations to the Academic Affairs Council regarding action on proposed curriculum changes, i.e., administrative, core curriculum, courses, degree programs; and makes necessary changes in forms to be used in making curriculum reports.

Appointments. The Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs makes all appointments from nominations submitted by the academic deans and Director of the Newton Gresham Library. The committee consists of nine members-two from the College of Arts and Sciences, one from the College of Education, one from the College of Business Administration, one from the College of Criminal Justice, two from the College of Humanities and Social Sciences, and one from the Newton Gresham Library. The nominations provided by the academic deans are derived from their respective college curriculum committees. The members serve three-year terms; one faculty member is nominated by the University Faculty Senate to chair the committee; the Chair serves a one-year term.

Term for Chair expires August 31, 2008:

Marsha Harman

Terms expire August 31, 2008:	
Philip Morris	Business Administration
Kandi Tayebi	Humanities and Social Sciences
John Huber	Arts and Sciences
Terms expire August 31, 2009:	
Karen Smith	Education
Larry Hoover	Criminal Justice
Doug Constance	Humanities and Social Sciences
Terms expire August 31, 2010:	
Dana Nicolay	Arts and Sciences
Janice Lange	Newton Grisham Library
Ex officio Members:	
Teresa Ringo	Registrar
Somer Smith	Office of Academic Affairs
Bill Fleming	SAM Center

Chair

Correct as of September, 2007

Sam Houston State University

PLEASE NOTE: All errors in committee listings should be reported in writing to Jacki Brossman, campus post office box 2478; e-mail jbrossman@shsu.edu.