

## DOCTORAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Appointed by: Provost and Vice President for Academic
---

Reports to:	Dean of Graduate Studies
Number of Members:	8
Faculty	8
Staff	0

**Purpose.** To promote effective doctoral programs. To develop assessment and recruitment strategies designed to enhance existing and prospective doctoral programs at Sam Houston State University. To provide recommendations to the Dean of Graduate Studies and the Graduate Council for the policies and procedures impacting doctoral degree programs.

**Appointments.** The Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs makes all appointments to the Doctoral Advisory Committee from nominations submitted by the Dean of Graduate Studies. Membership shall include one graduate advisor from each existing doctoral program. Ex-officio members may include one advisor from each proposed doctoral degree program approved by the Academic Affairs Council, but pending approval by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board. The chair is the Dean of Graduate Studies.

## Chair

Mitchell J. Muehsam	Dean of Graduate Studies
Members	
Mary Alice Conroy	College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Stacey Edmonson	College of Education
Victoria Titterington	College of Criminal Justice
Richard Watts	College of Education
Debra Price	College of Education
Ex-officio Members	
Mark Klespis	College of Arts and Sciences
Jim Olson	College of Humanities and Social Sciences

Correct as of September, 2007

Sam Houston State University

PLEASE NOTE: All errors in committee listings should be reported in writing to Jacki Brossman, campus post office box 2478; e-mail jbrossman@shsu.edu.