

## TABLE OF CONTENTS A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

## ACADEMIC AFFAIRS COUNCIL

Appointed by:	Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
Reports to:	Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
Number of Members:	63
Faculty	56
Staff	7

**Purpose.** Serves in an advisory capacity to the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs; provides a forum for the discussion of academic matters; serves as an initial academic policy development and review body as requested by the Vice President for Academic Affairs; and provides a forum for communicating more effectively on all academic concerns.

Appointments. Appointments made by Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs.

## Chair

David E. Payne	Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs	
College of Arts and Sciences		
Jaimie Hebert	Dean	
Dana Nicolay	Associate Dean	
Tamara Cook	Associate Dean	
Keri Rogers	Associate Dean	
Stanley Kelley	Acting Chair, Department of Agricultural and Industrial Sciences	
Tony Shipp	Chair, Department of Art	
Matthew P. Rowe	Chair, Department of Biological Sciences	
Richard Norman	Chair, Department of Chemistry	
Peter Cooper	Chair, Department of Computer Science	
Chris Baldwin	Chair, Department of Geography and Geology	
Ken Smith	Chair, Department of Mathematics and Statistics	
James Bankhead	Chair, School of Music	
Rex Isham	Chair, Department of Physics	
Penelope Hasekoester	Chair, Department of Theatre and Dance	
Jennifer Pontius	Coordinator, Dance	
Brian Cooper	Coordinator, Geology	
Doug Ullrich	Coordinator, Technology	
College of Business Administration		
D. David Louis	_	

## R. Dean LewisDeanLeroy AshornAssociate DeanValerie MuehsamAssistant DeanPhillip MorrisChair, Department of AccountingDon FreemanChair, Department of Economics and International BusinessJoe JamesChair, Department of General Business and Finance

Academic Affairs | Committee Book

Roger Abshire	Chair, Department of Management and Marketing
College of Criminal Justice	
Vincent J. Webb	Dean
Janet Mullings	Associate Dean
Holly Miller	Assistant Dean
Victoria Titterington	Assistant Dean
College of Education	
Genevieve Brown	Dean
Karen Smith	Associate Dean
Charlene Crocker	Chair, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
Beverly Irby	Chair, Department of Educational Leadership and Counseling
Alice Fisher	Chair, Department of Health and Kinesiology
Mary Robbins	Chair, Department of Language, Literacy and Special Populations
Mary Berry	Chair, Department of Library Science
College of Humanities and Social Sciences	
John M. de Castro	Dean
Kandi Tayebi	Associate Dean
Terry Thibodeaux	Associate Dean
William Bridges	Chair, Department of English
Debra Andrist	Chair, Department of Foreign Language
Terry Bilhartz	Chair, Department of History
Christopher White	Acting Chair, Department of Mass Communication
John Holcombe	Acting Chair, Department of Political Science
J. D. Ragsdale	Chair, Department of Communication Studies
Alessandro Bonanno	Chair, Department of Sociology
Janis White	Chair, Department of Family and Consumer Sciences
Donna Desforges	Chair, Department of Psychology and Philosophy
Frank Fair	Coordinator, Philosophy
Other Members	
Trevor Thorn	Director, Undergraduate Admissions
Rita Caso	Director, Institutional Research
Richard F. Eglsaer	Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs
William Fleming	Executive Director, Student Advising and Mentoring Center
Ann Holder	Director, Newton Gresham Library
LTC Rick King	Chair, Department of Military Science
Mitchell Muehsam	Dean of Graduate Studies/Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs
Keith Jenkins	Associate Vice President for Facilities and Operations
Gordon Plishker	Associate Vice President for Science and Technology
Richard Ward	Associate Vice President for Research and Special Programs
Teresa Ringo	Registrar
Eugene Young	Director, Honors Program
Mark Adams	Associate Vice President for Information Resources
Debra Price	Chair, University Faculty Senate
Christopher Whitaker	Chair, Student Government Association

Correct as of November 2007

Sam Houston State University

PLEASE NOTE: All errors in committee listings should be reported in writing to Jacki Brossman, campus post office box 2478; e-mail jbrossman@shsu.edu.