Reorganization of Academic Colleges - SHSU

| U | pon motion of Regent | , seconded by Regent | , it was ordered that |
|---|----------------------|----------------------|-----------------------|
| | | | |

Sam Houston State University be authorized to implement the following changes in the organizational structure of its academic colleges:

- 1. Add a College of Humanities and Social Sciences.
- 2. Move selected departments from existing colleges into the newly created college as detailed below.
- 3. Rename the College of Education and Applied Science to the College of Education.

Explanation

- 1. Currently, SHSU is organized into four academic colleges including the College of Arts and Sciences, the College of Business Administration, the College of Criminal Justice, and the College of Education and Applied Science. The existing organizational structure of the academic colleges is problematic in that a disproportionately large percentage of departments (53.3%) and faculty (60.8%) are housed within the College of Arts and Sciences. By adding an additional college, departments and accompanying faculty members will be realigned into newly formed colleges with more homogeneous academic content and organizational efficiencies to better serve the needs of our students. This will facilitate departments in maintaining a precise and clearer focus as they are more closely associated with other departments who share similar missions. The reorganization will necessitate the hiring of a management team to administer the new college. A dean, an associate dean, and one administrative assistant will need to be hired at an approximate cost of \$250,000 to be funded from existing sources such as tuition and reallocation. The management team of the new college will be supplemented by the reassignment of existing support staff.
- 2. Selected departments from the College of Arts and Sciences and the College of Education and Applied Science will be reassigned to create the College of Humanities and Social Sciences. Detailed below are the organizational structures of the colleges with new departmental compositions resulting from input from faculty via forums and e-mails, the faculty senate, and administrative officers.

College of Humanities and Social Sciences

Department of English and Foreign Languages Department of Political Science

Department of Family and Consumer Sciences
Department of Psychology and Philosophy
Department of Speech Communication

Department of Mass Communication Department of Sociology

College of Arts and Sciences

Department of Agricultural Sciences

Department of Geography and Geology

Department of Art Department of Mathematics and Statistics
Department of Biological Sciences School of Music

Department of Biological Sciences School of Music

Department of Chemistry Department of Physics

Department of Computer Science Department of Theatre and Dance

College of Education

Department of Curriculum and Instruction Department of Language, Literacy and Special

Department of Educational Leadership and Populations

Counseling Department of Library Science

Department of Health and Kinesiology

3. The reorganization results in the College of Education being reduced to five departments, three of which are specific to education and two with major emphases toward education. The streamlining permits the college to focus more directly on its primary mission of providing programs of excellence in teacher preparation.