FACULTY SENATE MINUTES SAM HOUSTON STATE UNIVERSITY November 8, 2007

Chair Debbie Price called the meeting to order at 3:35 p.m.

Members Present: Tracy Bilsing; Doug Constance; Jerry Dowling; Stacey Edmonson; Mark Frank; Debbi Hatton; Emmette Jackson; Ann Jerabek; Gerald Kohers; Paul Loeffler; Bill Lutterschmidt; Brian Oetiker; Debra Price; Tracy Steele.

Members Absent: Tom Cox; Peggy DeMers; Bill Edgington; Renee James; Bill Jasper; Rosanne Keathley; Brian Loft; John Newbold; Tamara Waggener; Yan Zhang.

Approval of Minutes:

The minutes of the October 25, 2007 meeting were approved.

Next Meeting:

The next Faculty Senate meeting is scheduled for December 3, 2007.

Centennial Scholarship Winner and Amendments:

Emily Miller was introduced as the recipient of the Centennial Scholarship. Teri Oparanozie, chair of this committee, also presented two amendments: (1) increase the maximum award amount from \$800 to \$2000, and (2) drop the required number of hours in which the applicants must be enrolled from 15 to 12. Both amendments were approved as written. Senate Chair Debbie Price will send an email (with the appropriate account number) through Academic Affairs encouraging donations to this scholarship fund. The Senate will also purchase a plaque on which plates with the recipients' names can be added annually.

Chair's Report:

None

Old Business:

The by-laws approved on October 25 have been sent to the President for his signature.

Chair Debbie Price called a meeting of the Standing Promotion and Tenure Committee to discuss early promotion policy and procedures. The Committee should also examine who conducts the DPTAC meeting; in some departments traditionally this has been the senior tenured faculty member, although the policy states that the academic dean will appoint a faculty member to conduct the meeting. The Committee is scheduled to meet Tuesday, November 13. The issue of whether tenure decisions from the DPTAC go directly to the Provost or whether they filter through the department chair and academic dean first was also discussed. Clarity is needed on how the promotion and tenure policy should be implemented. A recommendation from the Standing Promotion and Tenure Committee is expected.

Chair Debbie Price noted that some proposed changes from programs in response to the 120 hour rule, have been approved, while other proposals are still awaiting approval.

Chair Debbie Price also reported that the committee for the QEP has been named, and ideas for the QEP are being examined by this committee. The QEP is not actually implemented until after the SACS visit.

New Business:

Senator Emmette Jackson expressed a concern regarding handicapped parking in conjunction with the parking garage. Currently if you have a parking garage contract and also have a handicapped tag, you can only park in the handicapped spaces in the parking garage; you are not allowed to park in handicapped parking places elsewhere on campus. Senator Jackson will speak to the ADA coordinator for SHSU; the University Affairs Committee will also examine this issue.

Committee Reports:

The following committee reports will be submitted to the Senate:

- Academic Affairs.
- Faculty Affairs. None
- *University Affairs*. None
- <u>Committee on Committees</u>. None

The Faculty Senate informally adjourned at 5:20 p.m., after a quorum was lost at 5:00 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted, Stacey Edmonson, Chair-elect