Appointed by: Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Reports to: Dean of Graduate Studies and Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs

**Number of Members: 20** 

**Administrative** 7

Faculty 10

Ex officio 3

Correct as of: October 2013

**Purpose.** Reviews for academic integrity the curriculum reports to resolve conflicts to the extent possible; forwards to the Council of Academic Dean for certification of adequacy of funding the costs of program/administrative change to the institution and projected sources of funding; presents recommendations to the Academic Affairs Council regarding action on proposed curriculum changes, i.e., administrative, core curriculum, courses, degree programs; and makes necessary changes in forms to be used in making curriculum reports.

Appointments. The Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs makes all appointments from nominations submitted by the academic deans and Director of the Newton Gresham Library. The committee consists of one Associate Dean from each academic college, who serves on the college-level curriculum committee; one faculty member, from each academic college, who serves on the respective departmental curriculum committee (if relevant) and college curriculum committee; one faculty member from the Newton Gresham Library; and ex-officio members to include one staff member for Academic Affairs, one staff member from the Registrar's Office who builds the courses in the operating system, and a Sam Center representative. The Associate Deans, library representative, and ex-officio members serve indefinite terms; the remaining faculty members serve two-year terms with half of the appointments expiring each year. One faculty member is nominated each year by the University Faculty Senate to serve as chair-elect for the committee, serving the following year as Chair. The Chair serves a one-year term. The Chair must have previously on a college or university-level curriculum committee.

# **Committee Members**

Terms expire August 31, 2015:

Barbara Polnick, Chair William Edgington\*, Chair-elect

**Indefinite Terms:** 

Janice Lange, Representative, Newton Gresham Library
Juliana Lilly, Associate Dean, Business Administration
Marcus Gillespie, Associate Dean, Sciences
Brian Miller, Associate Dean, Fine Arts and Mass Communication
Holly Miller, Associate Dean, Criminal Justice
Jerry Bruce, Associate Dean, Humanities and Social Sciences
Debra Price, Associate Dean, Education
Rosanne Keathley, Associate Dean, Health Science

## Terms expire August 31, 2015:

**Rick Bello,** Humanities and Social Sciences **TBA,** Education **Joan Bytheway,** Criminal Justice

# Terms expire August 31, 2016:

**Kevin Clifton,** Fine Arts and Mass Communication **Marianne Moore,** Health Sciences

### Terms expire August 31, 2017:

**Roger Abshire,** Business Administration **Todd Primm,** Sciences

#### Ex officio members:

Dawn Caplinger, Office of Academic Affairs Bill Fleming, SAM Center Susy Zavala, Banner, Registrar's Office